Skeletons

7 February, 2015

When I looked at the figures I had for Song of Blades and Heroes (SoBH), I decided that my ghosts and wraiths would be lonely without some low quality undead to make up some warbands. Furthermore, I figure skeletons and zombies won’t take too much trouble to paint. Therefore, I based the two warbands I’d got from Splintered Light and set to work on the skeletons. I got these done very quickly, and I’m pleased with the result. I’ve used GW Bleached Bone with my usual wash and then a drybrush of white for highlights. The other colours were designed to be drab, so the cloth was a grey mixed with my linen colour (a mixture of bleached bone and the GW khaki colour — now renamed to Karak Stone).

The new skeleton warband.

The new skeleton warband.

Three archers.

Three archers.

From the back.

From the back.

The mounted skeletons.

The mounted skeletons.

The other side.

The other side.

Unarmoured skeletons.

Unarmoured skeletons.

From the rear.

From the rear.

Armoured skeletons.

Armoured skeletons.

From the rear.

From the rear.

The wash brings out the detail well, though indentations for temples sometimes can look like eye sockets. The kite shields of a couple are of a later period than the Dark Age setting I favour, but skeletons are probably lacking in any fashion sense.

The zombies should come next, and then I may get back to the ratmen that I started before Christmas. I have quite a few sundry figures for SoBH in various stages of completion. I also have figures for DBA that are getting worked on now and then; in particular, I have four stands of mounted Norman knights that are well on the way. I cut out the spaghetti lances and gave them Xyston spears. The clever part of this was leaving the last 3mm of spear on each one’s foot. It made the whole process much easier and you can’t see the join.

Finally, I will post pictures of dwarves at some stage. I got an order of Splintered Light ones, and they are of the right scale for my humans. Before I look to sell the Copplestone, Grenadier, Blood Dawn and Black Raven dwarves, I will post some pictures for purpose of scaling. I’m also in the process of painting some East Riding Miniatures dwarves, though they seem to be languishing in the queue to be completed!

4 Responses to “Skeletons”

  1. Chad Thorson Says:

    Nice job! I really like these! Reminds me I need to finish up my Splintered Light orc warband.

  2. Stephen Says:

    Those are really nice, Mark. There’s not much you can do with skeletons but the basing really helps.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks, their best quality is that they’re painted, something that distinguishes them from many of my figures! Also good was that they were quick to paint.


Leave a Reply

