Maurice Walsh

30 November, 2014

In the last while I’ve read a fair bit. I read the Black Company series by Glenn Cook, and a couple of the series of Raymond Feist (I’m on the Serpentwar Saga, but stopped as I couldn’t put it down!). I’ve then reread Fritz Leiber’s stories on Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser, which are easier to put down as they are short stories. I read these all on an ebook reader, a B&N Nook. However, there are a few books that I’ve wanted to read for a while that I’ve not been able to find digital versions of. I got them out of the public library yesterday and as I’ve not found very detailed descriptions of them online; besides what I read on TMP here, which made me want to find them, I’ve found nothing of substance. Therefore I’ll add some now:

This is set in Ireland around the time of Augustus. It is based on the story Togail Bruidne Dá Derga (The Destruction of Da Derga’s Hostel) . The sons of the swordmaker are from the continent, but one ends up in Ireland. Some elements would not be in a book written today (winged helmets, though fetching on Asterix, are not considered normal, nor are scythed chariots). However, there are details that reflect the experience of someone who’d grown up before electricity became common, such as details of daily life. These details and the characters made it a book I enjoyed.

Years back, when I was studying Old Irish at university, we read some of Togail Bruidne Dá Derga. I can’t say I enjoyed it. The first paragraph describes a woman and the vocabulary was very varied and complex; we didn’t read much in the end, either.

Set in Ireland during the Elizabethan period; I’ve not read it yet.

This describes events during the campaigns of the Marquis of Montrose, It was published in the US as The Dark Rose. I’ve not read it yet.

7 Responses to “Maurice Walsh”

  1. TWR Says:

    Interesting items here Mark. I have finally started to read First Man in Rome, it seemed a requirement having ordered two Corvus Belli Marian Roman armies last week.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks, I’m a good way into Blackcock’s Feather and it’s better again than Sons of the Swordmaker.

      The first few books of McCullough’s series are OK, but once Caesar arrives her hero-worship of him put me off. I should lend you He Died Old by Alfred Duggan, a good read!

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Marian Romans have so many allied options they are a bit of a change now from the old eight 4Bd army.

      The CB figures will work well on 20mm deep bases too. They’re crowded otherwise.

      • TWR Says:

        I pushed hard for deeper bases for close order foot in DBA 3.0, as did others. I was rather pleased when Phil adopted it.

        The CB figures, along with many other manufacturers, have animated figures which benefit from such a base. My Samurai are good example. I considering basing my Successor Pike reinforcements on the larger bases as well, to allow more base modelling area.

        I have read some of Duggan’s books when I was younger, but not He Died Old. First Man in Rome is actually Joel’s but I raided his collection while I am recovering from a short hospital visit. I’m rather enjoying it.

      • Mark Davies Says:

        I wish I wasn’t such a stickler for conformity! Now I’ve started with 15mm I’m reluctant to change.

        He Died Old isn’t fiction, but an easy read nevertheless.

      • TWR Says:

        The introduction of allies into the basic game in 3.0 was really interesting. Polybian Romans for example can be very different under 3.0 with a Numidian Ally. Zama anyone…

      • Mark Davies Says:

        Yes, even the Polybian Romans have more variety now, and that’s before thinking of allies too.


Leave a Reply

