Rebased Norse Irish

4 October, 2014

Well, it’s taken another fortnight since I said I’d get onto posting these pictures. The Norse Irish are not a powerful army by any stretch, but I’ve had a lot of good fortune with them in the games I’ve played (generally against historical opponents). Since they were rebased they managed to defeat Joel’s Vikings, and they have often won despite their limitations — the luck of the Irish!

The whole army arrayed: Ostmen (4Bd) on the left and bonnachts (3Ax) flanked by kerns (2Ps) in the centre.

The whole army arrayed: Ostmen (4Bd) on the left and bonnachts (3Ax) flanked by kerns (2Ps) in the centre.

The army was one I painted early on; the paint job is nothing flash, but the rebasing has definitely improved their appearance.

Another angle.

Another angle.

The army is similar to the Ancient Spanish in having a lot of Auxilia and Psiloi. However, they have no mounted, and the 4Bd are less useful; they slow the army down and aren’t really enough to do much.

The bonnachts.

The bonnachts.

Another angle.

Another angle.

I’m working at expanding all my Dark Age armies for HoTT. To this end I’ve provided them with a few Lurker elements, skirmishers on a deeper base. The heroes and magicians will follow. Some already have Behemoths and fliers.

The rest; on the far left are some skirmishers based as Lurkers for HoTT; they have a dog! The Ostmen are part of the surplus available from the Viking army.

The rest; on the far left are some skirmishers based as Lurkers for HoTT; they have a dog! The Ostmen are part of the surplus available from the Viking army.

Another angle.

Another angle.

Coming soon, the Vikings, the last of the rebasing efforts.

16 Responses to “Rebased Norse Irish”

  1. TWR Says:

    They look great Mark!

    I am in Pokeno currently and have had a couple of Games with Joel yesterday. Perhaps next time we can arrange a game.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks. Yes, it’d be great to catch up. Look forward to it. The last couple of months have been very busy and I’ve not done any gaming and only a tiny bit of painting.

  2. TWR Says:

    Hi Mark, Played against a Norse-Irish army on Sunday. The Auxilia are interesting with a mix of 3Ax and 4Ax. A stronger army than I expected, especially with plenty of marsh on the table.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Mine have an enviable record. Not that they’ve played much.

      • TWR Says:

        A local who only started playing DBA, or indeed Ancients, a year ago has three Dark Age armies. The Norse Irish are his most recent army. Being very well painted they look likely to do much better on the table than I expected.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Unfortunately, I rebased before I saw the new list – no 4Ax.

      • TWR Says:

        I think the mix is interesting. Some seem to have the additional staying power, in the right terrain, while others move rapidly. Very interesting.

      • Mark Davies Says:

        I’m just annoyed to consider re-rebasing so soon after debasing!

      • TWR Says:

        I can understand that. Still I thought of you after playing against this army.

      • Mark Davies Says:

        I got my paints out yesterday – to check if they’d dried up – it’s a start! I was working on some Normans.

      • Mark Davies Says:

        Reading two novels – Count Bohemond and Count Belisarius – helped. Of course, tossing up about Early Byzantines!

      • TWR Says:

        I enjoyed Count Bohemond, though I read it many years ago.

      • Mark Davies Says:

        Graves’ book was a better read, but I enjoyed Duggan’s appreciation of the linguistic situation of the crusade — the Sicilian Normans had access to Greek and Arabic speakers, something the Northern French didn’t.

      • TWR Says:

        You have lost me here Mark 😀

      • Mark Davies Says:

        Duggan brings out situations where Bohemond uses Greek, or his subordinates use Arabic; it’s an aspect of the situation that some authors ignore.

      • TWR Says:

        That makes more sense to me. It was perhaps 30 years ago when I read this book.

        Good to hear the paints are out. Look forward to hearing and seeing progress.

        BTW I will be in Pokeno at Easter, partly to build retaining walls. Perhaps the planets will align for a game.


Leave a Reply

