Mithridatics on the move

14 November, 2011

I got inspired to get my Mithridatic army done. It’s jumping the queue somewhat, but then that’s pretty much the only reason why I have one! There are a couple of reasons; partly it allows me to get elements done that can be used for other armies, partly it is that Mithridates himself is extremely fascinating, but mostly it is that I’m curious to see how some of the figures turn out as they are from a mix of manufactures and some of them are conversions.

As I’m so curious, after getting them undercoated, I took the unusual step to base them temporarily to see how they look.

Pontic cavalry, from left to right Pontic light horse, Sarmatians, Pontic cavalry command, more Pontic cavalry and Skythians.

I decided to glue the riders to their mounts, as the Freikorp ones are moulded like this. Also they didn’t fit too well, so it allowed me to use green stuff to fill the gaps. Given the size of some of these gaps, I’m really glad I did this!

The Pontic cavalry, light horse and command elements. These are Warmodelling and the most speculative of my purchases.

The command element and an element of floppy hat wearing Thracians I got from Warmodelling. I’m told the oddness of their mounts is less apparent once painted, and already with an undercoat they seem to be blending in better. They’re of really hard metal, and replacing the shields on the command element involved a lot of work with a hacksaw!

More Pontic cavalry, this time Freikorp Seleucid militia next to the Warmodelling ones for comparison.

There’s a lot of debate about how Mithridates’ cavalry might have looked. I went for the Seleucid militia cavalry for some of them as I can use them for the last of the Seleucid army lists—and they look really neat: someone clearly enjoyed sculpting these, with their packs and untidy costumes. Using the Thracians as Pontic light horse will also give me an element of unshielded light horse I can use in other armies, while the Carthaginian command seemed to work, as they had horse armour, which is apparently possible for Mithridates.

Allied cavalry, Skythians and Sarmatians.

The other two cavalry options are Skythians, who pop up everywhere, and Sarmatians. The Skythians are Freikorp and the Sarmatians are Donnington. I’m really pleased with how the Donnington figures look next to Freikorp ones, and may get more.

Thureophoroi and Asiatic archers.

The Mithridatic list has some 4Ax and 2Ps. I could use some of the elements I’ve done, but I need some more, and these will be useful for the Seleucids and other armies.

Imitation Legionaries.

With the figures described so far I could field one version of the army, the one with a SCh and four 4Pk (though the pike so far are not the most appropriate), but I’m keen to do the five 4Bd, as I’ve thought of a way of doing some of them for the later Seleucid and Ptolemaic lists

Seleucid and Ptolemaic Imitation Legionaries.

The Seleucids can have one element of imitation legionaries and the Ptolemaics two; for these I’ve gone with Nick Secunda’s Montevert book, which shows them with the thureos, and used Freikorp thureophoroi and thorakitai. It seems they may have had spears instead of pila, but to make it clear they are imitation legionaries, I’ve given them some of the old Freikorp pila. These will be painted to distinguish the Seleucid from the Ptolemaics.

Mithridatic Imitation Legionaries.

For the Mithridatics, I’ll use the three earlier 4Bd, even if they aren’t entirely appropriate, and two elements with scuta. For these, I used a few of the Freikorp Marians and a few of the Freikorp thorakitai with their shields replaced with scuta. Overall, I’m pleased with the way the Freikorp figures are shaping up, and pleased to have used figures I already have, rather than buy yet more! There was quite a lot of work in prepping these guys; next actually to paint them!

2 Responses to “Mithridatics on the move”

  1. Stephen Says:

    Nice gallery Mark. You hardly need to paint them now 😀
    It’s amazing what a difference improving the horses has made to the Donningtons range. Although the riders are a little portly they are nicely animated.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Well, the lighting was a bit subdued, but the wash does bring out the features very well. The mounted are now done, so you can see how they paint up. The Donningtons aren’t bad at all.


Leave a Reply

