Marian Romans

17 June, 2011

I’ve finally received some figures I won in an auction last month. They give me a painted Marian Roman army that will need some tidying up (the pila were removed for postage!) and some more figures painted to provide all the options. It’s nicely painted, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to match the style, especially for the shields, which are hand painted.

Part of the attraction with the purchase was that it came with extra figures. They are Freikorp figures, which I quite like. There are two elephants, which are very handy, and a whole lot of Romans, mostly Early Imperial. I was hoping for some more Cretan archers (there were two painted), but no luck there.

I’ll take some pictures later. The pictures on the auction were these:
I’ve placed some orders with Essex, Donnington and Magister Militum. They are mainly for civilians to make camps, which will be one of my next projects. I’m looking forward to the Donnington figures, as I like what Luca has done with them here:

http://peanadipiombo.blogspot.com/… battaglia.html

Of course, like many others in the hobby, I’ve always found it easier to buy figures than to actually paint them, but we’ll see!

8 Responses to “Marian Romans”

  1. Prufrock Says:

    Nice one, Mark! Will look forward to seeing how they turn out. I recently purchased a whack of painted Marians (Old Glory 15s) off ebay as well, so am particularly keen to see how you go on this project. How was the shipping from Donnington, BTW? I’ve always steered clear of them due to the (to my mind) high shipping costs they advertise on their website.

    Cheers,
    Aaron

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks. The Marians are not top of my priorities, but they looked too good to pass up.

      I agree on the postage. I got the SoA discount, but even so postage would be about 1/3 of the cost. I’ll be trying to avoid any other purchase from them in a hurry!

  2. luca Says:

    Mark I think that hoarding tons of lead is a typical disease: we got infected by lead and we need every day more…
    ah, there’s no cure, of course
    cheers
    luca

  3. TWR Says:

    Now you just need the young Octavius to turn up with his Marian Romans!

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Indeed, though there’s more to it than that, as I’ve now got the figures off their bases and worked out what I’ll have to do complete the army; paint a few more figures and design some mounted commands. I have the three personality figures, Pompey, Crassus and the other one. Choosing the figures to go with them is not so easy.

  4. TWR Says:

    The “other one”, now that’s called leaving your options open! Hopefully we will read about their campaigns which were really only excuses to celebrate a triumph…

    • Mark Davies Says:

      There is only one ‘other one’, one who I won’t name! I always see the Romans as something for my other armies t beat up! Civil Wars are all good, though. Poor form to celebrate a triumph at the expense of one’s compatriots, though that didn’t stop the other one!


Leave a Reply

