Seleucid army ready

27 March, 2011

Seleucid army arrayed (options for the 'b' list).

With the completion of the knight elements I can now field a Seleucid armies for the last three options of the DBA list (II/19b-d: 279-83BC). Apart from the 3Cm of the ‘c’ list and the 4Bd of the ‘d’ list I have all the options, though a good number are currently being borrowed from the Later Macedonian army until I paint ones for this army.

Some of the borrowed foot: all but the two leftmost are really for the Later Macedonians and even the those two will need to serve double roles.

They are largely Freikorp figures with some Gladiator ones. More images are available at the Army Page here.

Definitely not borrowed! Signature elements of the army, the elephant and scythed chariot.

Also distinctively Seleucid: cataphract cavalry with masked helmets.

6 Responses to “Seleucid army ready”


  1. Beautiful army! Suberp paintjob!
    Regards
    derFigurenschieber

  2. TWR Says:

    Another great army all ready to take the field. The figures look very impressive. You now have a toolkit of Successor options!

    I look forward to hearing of battles against Lysimachus at some point, though I hear he is busy with minor rebellions and administration at the moment.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks. As for Early Successor armies I’ve invested in an early successor elephant, and I’ve got some foot generals as part of the personality packs, as well as some Macedonian Companion cavalry, so the plan’s there! Need to paint some more pike first!

      Yes, I’m keen to meet Lysimachus. He’s been very quiet this year (well, out this way; busy out his, I’m sure!).

  3. neldoreth Says:

    This army is looking very, very nice! Kudos on the fantastic and inspiring work here!

    n.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks; I’m hoping I can get it finished in the next few months, paint the elements that are currently being borrowed from the Later Macedonians, but I’m not sure if work won’t get in the way.

      That said, it’s one of the most novel armies in DBA and I think it’ll be a lot of fun to use.


Leave a Reply

