Carthaginians in Thule (Ancient Britons v. Carthaginians)

8 October, 2010

Last night I got to have another game with Joel. Although my Polybians were finished, I decided to wait until they were flocked before putting them on the table. Therefore it was my Carthaginians that faced me when I took the Ancient Britons out for a game. The Britons are going to Conquest, so I figured they could do with another run. Clearly the Carthaginians were unhappy with their tin suppliers in Britain and sent an army to sort them out!

Joel chose an elephant and lots of warband as his options: 2x3Cv (1=Gen), 1xEl, 1x2LH, 3x4Sp, 3x3Wb, 1x3Ax and 1x2Ps. I went for more psiloi to meet the elephant and had: 6x3Wb (1=Gen), 2xLCh, 2x2LH, 2x2Ps. It has a certain symmetry to it!

I was the defender and went for a central wood and two steep hills. After deploying I swapped my psiloi to the other side to meet the elephant.

 

Initial Deployments: Britons on the right.

 

Joel started with 1 PIP and opted to get his elephant off the hill. I started with 6 PIPs and was tempted to charge the elephant with my psiloi, but chose caution. As it was the psiloi advanced into the woods to interdict the elephant.

This was not a terribly good plan, as Joel chased the psiloi out with his warband and auxilia. I was lucky not to lose one. Meanwhile I advanced my chariots to meet his cavalry. PIPs favoured me and I was able to attack them with light horse support and a flank on the general. My first attack saw the chariots rout his cavalry (dice: 5-1). His spear fled my light horse, but the overlap on the general proved too much and despite ferocious resistance (dice: 6-6), the Carthaginian general fell and his army broke and fled. A rapid and surprising victory to the Britons. Cornubian tin suppliers remained as intransigent as ever.

 

All over after only a few combats.

 

  • Review:

After losing my general repeatedly last weekend, it was nice to reverse the roles. Joel might have been wiser to have had his two cavalry in reverse positions to protect his general. As it was, it was a lucky attack by me that could have failed (my first attack was at 3-3, so no advantage to me; as it succeeded it made the attack on the general at better odds). With different luck my mounted arm would have been ripe for a pummelling. Also I was outnumbered on that wing and would have had trouble redeploying if I’d not won quickly.

8 Responses to “Carthaginians in Thule (Ancient Britons v. Carthaginians)”

  1. TWR Says:

    I see you are back to placing woods in the centre of the battlefield again.

  2. TWR Says:

    Against an army with few bad going troops it can clearly work. The Carthaginians however also have a good number of bad going capable troops. Five in this case. Almost half the army.

    That said, even against other armies I believe a wood in the centre is a two edged sword. It creates additional PIP costs and the Ancient Britons seem to be an army that needs lots of PIPs to conduct double moves. Further, the ABs have a number of troops like LH that need PIPs to move back and forth.

    I wonder how terrain selection impacts an army to achieve a win in an a game with a time limit? Of course game over-run wasn’t an issue in thhis game 🙂

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Yes, auxilia really come into their own in BGo, as they can get the back rank support there. I bet the Carthaginians wish they had more.

      I suspect the central wood could really slow up a game, and I’ll be looking at other terrain placements for the competition.

  3. PTR Says:

    Interesting! I have a compulsion to rush my BGo troops into any central BGo, even if it means that they simply get chased right out again. The only way I have been able to combat this tendency is to only put BGo on the flanks. I win a lot more of my games when I do!

    • Mark Davies Says:

      I used centrally placed BGo quite effectively with my Picts last year at Conquest; it gave my Pict spear a chance to avoid pike blocks. However, as TWR said, it can be a double-edged sword. With low aggression again, I’ll need to think of a better placement strategy.

  4. Twr Says:

    Mark, I assume you guessed Joel was under instructions from me to take a fall in this game. The object to make you think the Britons are a powerful army. This in turn would encourage you to bring them to Conquest and there fall to my own army.

    Joel is usually not as good following my instructions so clearly things are looking up!

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Well, it was a good result for a face off between the army I won at the last Conquest and the one I plan to use at IWC. Not sure what you’ve got planned for Conquest, but the Britons are confident of defeating them! These are Cornubians, and their descendents are equally confident in facing dastard Parliamentarians the day before Conquest!


Leave a Reply

