First Anniversary

25 July, 2010

It’s been a while since I’ve had the opportunity to post anything here. Near the end of last month was the anniversary of this blog. I started a post in France at my sister’s, but was put off by the AZERTY keyboard. Since then I’ve been travelling, getting sorted after travels or recovering from a cold.

Anyway, the blog has been much more successful than I’d ever have imagined when I started it. I’ve made contact with other DBA/HOTT players in New Zealand and now have regular games of DBA, more regular than I have time to report on! I’ve also been to a couple of competitions in Christchurch, which have been a whole lot of fun and a chance to meet more gamers interested in DBA. I’ve also got a lot out of displaying my armies on the blog. It’s encouraged me to improve my painting technique and make use of ideas I’ve picked up from other blogs and from the Fanaticus forum and The Miniatures Page.

In the next few days I hope to catch up on the backlog of games I have to report on since I got back: two games with John before going down to the Christchurch Wargames Club’s DBA competition, a game with Keith before the competition and five games at the competition. I even had a game last week and watch one between John and Joel the same evening.e.

2 Responses to “First Anniversary”

  1. Twr Says:

    Congratulations!

    I thought the site had been running much longer, after all it is packed with great content. It takes time to build up good quality content and even more time to keep it interesting.

    Keep up the posts, in between some games of course…

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks. No, only one year and a lot of shameless promotion of posts on TMP and the Fanaticus Forum!

      Looking forward to getting back to painting soon too. Just can’t decide what to paint first!


Leave a Reply

