Carthaginians ready to take the field

21 April, 2010

I’ve finally got another ancient army to a stage that it can take the field (if you treat the Gauls and Britons as essentially one army). Now that I’ve completed the Libyan spearmen, I’ve got all the compulsory elements for the Later Carthaginians finished and can now put them in the field. All their optional elements are done, except for their elephants, which I’ll start work on next.

Three elements of Libyan spear formed up with Libyan javelinmen support.

The spear were very quick to do, and I’m reasonably happy with how the linen armour came out. I give it a coat of plain Klear before I apply the wash. This should encourage me to make a Hellenistic army my next project. I’m also reasonably happy with the shields. There are some wrinkles in the transfers, but not easily visible. I decided to go for shield colours and uniform colours that tied in a little with the Libyan and Phoenician cavalry. I’m not so sure that the varied poses worked so well, and I might have been better to have had the two basic sorts divided out between elements, but once the shields were glued on it was too late.

All the 'African elements of the Carthaginian army (aside from the more independent Numidians, and, of course, the elephants).

I’ve updated the My Army pages for the Classical armies, as I’ve redone the bases for all of them now. In particular, the Celtic camp now has a menhir as part of its group of druids.

Celtic druids in the camp with their menhir in the corner.

After I’ve finished of the elephants, the Spanish cavalry and the camp elements (mules and the Spanish tableau), I’ll start on some of the large stock of Hellenistic figures that I have. The Spanish, Italians and Polybians will have to wait. I’m tempted to do some more HOTT figures, but the Hellenistics are more attractive, as until I’ve done a few I can’t really justify buying more to fill them out. I’m putting off more purchases until I’ve painted a few (it helps that the ash cloud would delay any order, so I may as well wait.

10 Responses to “Carthaginians ready to take the field”

  1. Robin Sutton Says:

    These guys are looking very nice, Mark…. great work.

    Cheers
    Robin

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks; I’m looking forward to using them. I hope to take them down to Conquest later this year. Next is to paint some historical opponents for them.

  2. TWR Says:

    Mark, as always they look great. As to enemies the Numidians are waiting! Hopefully you can bring the Celtic host to double as Galatians as Greece also awaits the migration.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Very true, and they make for an interesting match-up, I’d think. If the Gauls faced them, I reckon they would need even more luck than they’ve had against the Marians (especially if the elephants are used).

      I’ll try to bring both when I visit the week after next (hopefully with the elephants).

  3. Craig C Says:

    They look great Mark!

    Craig

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks. Getting them this far has reinvigorated my painting efforts, and I hope to have the elephants done very soon now (like before the end of next week).

  4. Andrew M Says:

    Just catching up on your blog Mark, and I must say I’m very impressed. The figures are very good and I enjoy your battle reports. Keep it up!

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks, it’s proving a lot of fun, much more than I’d ever anticipated. If you’re ever up this way, you should stop by for a game!


  5. Wow, great painting. Please tell me those shields are decals!

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks, I’ve picked up some handy tips on using washes from you, and yes, those are VVV transfers. I’ll be using more for the shields on the howdahs (and I’ll reuse the shield colours too, so there’s some uniformity to the African part of the army.


Leave a Reply

