Hordes

23 November, 2009

Last week I painted up three elements of 7Hd for the Battle of Hastings. I also finished all the figures I need for the King Magnus campaign.

Feudal Hordes

These are all Essex figures, some of which I got by trade from Paul Potter. They are pretty primitive looking figures, some are armed with lumps of wood or crude stone clubs. They’ll be used in campaign games for emergency reinforcements. The middle element is made up of figures without trousers, so it’s particularly suitable for the Welsh and Pre-feudal Scots, who don’t hold with such fashion!

I also finished one 3Sp and two 3Bw for the Welsh (Feudal Castings, of course). Until I’m inspired to paint the early Welsh option (lots of 3Wb), that’s all of them for now, though I do have the figures for some more command elements, particularly another mounted one, but I think other projects will take priority.

More Welsh

And I’ve done some more Viking archers (also Feudal Castings), only to decided that if I make the Anglo-Norse huscarls immune to QK, they won’t need any more light troops. Still, I’ve now got enough archers for two Viking armies, and I’ve probably got the blades too, if I painted the rest; again I can’t see that being an immediate priority.

Viking Archers

2 Responses to “Hordes”

  1. Stephen Says:

    Looking good, Mark.
    Essex figures are sometimes criticised for their boring poses, but those Hd are full of character.

    • Mark Davies Says:

      Thanks. They are certainly the ‘Monty Python’ sort of peasant horde, dirty and crudely equipped!

      They come from a variety of packs; the most primitive are Essex’s Saxon levy (SXA7); that’s where the stone club-wielder comes from. I also got their assorted pilgrims and hordes (MID87 and MID97). In addition I mixed in a shieldless javelinman (MID65) and a slinger (MID66) on each element. There were also some Essex figures from Paul Potter, so it’s a real hodge-podge.

      I think Essex have a wide range of figures for these packs, so it’s pot-luck what you get. I asked for ‘early medieval’, but I’m not sure if that made much difference.


Leave a Reply

