More on Outpost Byzantines

18 October, 2009

I took some photos of the Outpost Byzantines that I painted last week. I’m not sure I’ve got things quite right with them. In particular I’m not sure I like the bright quivers and bowcases I painted for some of them (not that you can see in these pictures!). It’s my first time painting figures that might have uniforms. Also, I think these figures are likely to have brighter and more patterned fabrics than what I’ve been painting to date.

The Kavallarioi are flanked by Pecheneg Skythikon LH on the left and Tourkopouloi LH on the right. The LH look great, but they're a whole head smaller than the Kavallarioi from the same range.

The Kavallarioi are flanked by Pecheneg Skythikon LH on the left and Tourkopouloi LH on the right. The LH look great, but they're a whole head smaller than the Kavallarioi from the same range.

The Varangians and archers pose with some Centaurs. They and the Centaurs are carefully positioned to avoid showing their shields, which are waiting for transfers.

The Varangians and archers pose with some Centaurs. They and the Centaurs are carefully positioned to avoid showing their shields, which are waiting for transfers.

I got some more paint this weekend. It was off TradeMe, which is always a bit pot-luck, but I decided to risk it, as there were a lot of the little paint-pots from the GW LoTR range. Whether the paint was any good or not I’d be able to use the pots for mixing my own colours. I think I got a reasonable deal. I certainly have a lot of the little pots now!

2 Responses to “More on Outpost Byzantines”

  1. Stephen Says:

    Very nice indeed. Good flesh colour too, and the VVV decals seem to fit pretty well. One advantage of the GW pots is that you can’t get paint in the thread! Vallejo do a range that is (I understand) matched to the GW ones, with slight differences in the names. So if you see any going cheap you could get some. Not that you’ll need any paint for the forseeable future!

    • Mark Davies Says:

      GW paints are always easy to get on TradeMe, as kids give up painting Warhammer fairly regularly. Unfortunately they don’t look after the paints very well.

      I’m quite pleased with the flesh colour for the Byzantines too. I mixed ‘vomit brown’ and ‘elf flesh’. However, I’ve not got much ‘elf flesh’ and heaps of ‘dwarf flesh’, so I may see what I get if I use the ‘dwarf flesh’ next time.

      Outpost have just today sent me an invoice for the rest of the army; they took a while to catch up after being closed for a time. Now I just need to wait.


Leave a Reply

