Big Painting Session

20 September, 2009

This weekend I surprised myself by getting two batches of figures painted, some 6 mounted and 35 foot. The first lot were started on Thursday, I think, inasmuch as I’d done their flesh, but I finished them totally Friday night. These were figures for my Pre-feudal Scots army: 2 figures for light horse and 7 figures for spear. I’m planning to use them as Picts at Conquest,  a wargames competition in Christchurch next month, so I need an extra 2LH and 2 more 3Sp. I’m now waiting for a few figures from Feudal Castings, so I can finish the spear.

The next day I spent the afternoon and evening on armoured infantry—mostly metal, so relatively easy. These were 12 dismounted knights and 12 Islemen.The knights are now based and waiting for their magic wash and flock, while the Islemen need 4 more figures from the Feudal Castings order before I can base them. I also painted 4 feudal scouts (2x2LH). These were figures I got by trade from Paul Potter through a chance post on the Fanaticus Forum. I swapped Museum Miniatures figures that don’t scale well for me for some Essex ones.

Figures painted this weekend in array: on the left are the pre-feudal Scots and Islemen, in the centre are the knights and on the right are the feudal scouts; behind them are Macbeth's witches waiting to be based. On nails are the next batch, some Irish. Right behind them is the set of drawers with all the unpainted lead. On the far left the Pre-feudal Scots are trying out used business card holders as storage for their trip to Christchurch.

Figures painted this weekend in array: on the left are the pre-feudal Scots and Islemen, in the centre are the knights and on the right are the feudal scouts; behind them are Macbeth's witches waiting to be based. On nails are the next batch, some Irish. Right behind them is the set of drawers with all the unpainted lead. On the far left the Pre-feudal Scots are trying out used business card holders as storage for their trip to Christchurch.

In the next few weeks I’ll be trying out my ‘Picts’ against various assortments of Normans and others to get practice against probable opponents at the competition. In particular, I want to see how they go against Patrician Romans and Classical Indians (for which I’ll need to use my HOTT Bh as El!).

4 Responses to “Big Painting Session”

  1. TWR Says:

    Mark, the rumour is that 2 or 3 players will be attending Conquest’s 15mm DBA from Timaru. I don’t know which armies will be used but two of the players ended in the top 3 at Tagcon. One used Classical Indians and the other Patrician Roman (West). Of coure that doesn’t mean they will use the same armies.

    Good luck with the last of the painting.

    • Mark Says:

      Well, I’ll try and put in some practice with facing elephants, as they’re not something I’ve had to deal with before. I can configure my goblins as Classical Indians; they’re almost as colourful in their own way!

  2. Stephen Says:

    You *did* get a lot done! The shield decals look good too – they show up even though the photo is a quite general view.

  3. Mark Says:

    Thanks, I could do with making that photo and the one of the Vikings a bit bigger. I reduced them for the blog.


Leave a Reply

