Old Battle Reports

14 July, 2009

I’m giving this blog a little more history quickly by posting battle reports originally sent as emails to my friend Steve in Melbourne. Steve and I have known each other since secondary school, where we shared a common interest in gaming. His decision to get some DBA armies a few years back was one of the catalysts for me to get into figure gaming myself.

Pre-feudal Scots v Anglo-Normans

A photo taken by Steve around Christmas 2007; a battle of Pre-feudal Scots (using Anglo-Danes and Normans) led by Steve against Anglo-Normans, led by me with Ieuan looking on from my side. The Thegns and Galwegians have almost made contact on the right flank.

Furthermore, a game of DBA at his place when I visited in 2007 was instrumental in getting me remotivated to get my own armies. Since then, his visits to NZ have been the occasion of many of the games of DBA and HOTT that I’ve played. The visits have also been a spur to get armies finished in time for them.

King Stephen's War

Another photo from the same time. I'd just finished the second Anglo-Norman command, so this was a chance to play two Anglo-Norman armies—naturally, given my opponent's name, a battle from the civil war of Stephen and Matilda.

Although I’ve kept no record of the games we’ve played, I’ve used email to keep myself motivated, reporting on progress with painting and with reports of games I’ve played, either solo or against others. Hopefully, I’ve also reciprocated by giving him some motivation for his painting, though I’ve not been able to get back there since 2007.

Actually, it was a particularly long report that was the spark for this blog, as it provoked the suggestion from Steve that I should start a blogging such stuff.

I’m giving this blog a little more history quickly by posting battle reports originally sent as emails to my friend Steve in Melbourne. Steve and I have known each other since secondary school, where we shared a common interest in gaming. His decision to get some DBA armies a few years back was one of the catalysts for me to get into figure gaming myself.

Furthermore, a game of DBA at his place when I visited in 2007 was instrumental in getting me remotivated to get my own armies. Since then, his visits to NZ have been the occasion of many of the games of DBA and HOTT that I’ve played. These visits have also been a spur to get armies finished in time.

Although I’ve kept no record of the games we’ve played, I’ve used email to keep myself motivated, reporting on progress with painting and with reports of games I’ve played, either solo or against others. Hopefully, I’ve also provided him with some motivation for his painting, though I’ve not been able to get back there since 2007.

Actually, it was a particularly long report that was the spark for this blog, as it provoked the suggestion from Steve that I should start a blogging such stuff.

One Response to “Old Battle Reports”

  1. hrldplmr Says:

    Which just proves that I’m better at getting other people to do things than I am at getting myself to do them.


Leave a Reply

